Extraordinary bravery and exceptional devotion to duty

The PDSA awards programme recognises the role of animals in society

PDSA Dickin Medal

Universally acknowledged as the animals’ Victoria Cross. Instituted in 1943, it recognises animals that display conspicuous gallantry or devotion to duty in the field of military conflict. The Medal has been awarded 65 times since 1943. The recipients comprise 32 pigeons, 29 dogs, 3 horses and 1 cat.

Read More

PDSA Gold Medal

The civilian equivalent of the PDSA Dickin Medal and it is often known as the animal’s George Cross. The PDSA Gold Medal was instituted in 2001 and recognises remarkable bravery and dedication to duty.

Read More

PDSA Order of Merit

The newest award to be added to PDSA’s award programme. Instituted in June 2014, it recognises animals that have shown outstanding acts of devotion and that symbolise the special relationship between animals and humans.

Read More

Nominate a deserving animal

If you know of an animal that you believe deserves a PDSA medal, you can nominate them online here, or in writing, to:

Animal Awards Team, PDSA Head Office,
Whitechapel Way,